Political Party

The Democratic Party

Official Name:

Democratic Party


Thomas Jefferson, James Madison

Founding date:

1787 (Unofficial), 1793 (as the Democratic-Republican Party) and 1854 (as the Democratic Party)

Party Ideology:

The Democratic Party advocates social justice grounded in modern progressivism.

Party History:

To combat the rise of the Federalist agenda of the federal government in the late 1780s, Thomas Jefferson and James Madison led a breakaway faction to form a rival political party known as the United States Democratic-Republican Party. Three decades later, the Party crumbled under the weight of two opposing factions, leading to the formation of the Andrew Jackson-influenced Democratic Party. The Democratic Party is now the oldest surviving political organization in the country.

Today, approximately 148 million Americans are self-identified Democrats or Democrat-leaning independents, making them the most supported political organization in the country.

Barack Obama became the 15th Democrat to hold the office of president, the second highest, collectively serving a total of 86 years.

Party address:

Democratic National Committee
430 S. Capitol St. SE
Washington, DC 20003

Telephone: 202-863-8000

Party logo:

A blue-colored letter D inside a blue-colored circle
Formerly the “Kicking Donkey” (semi-official)

Party chairperson:

Deborah “Debbie” Wasserman Schultz, member of the U.S. House of Representatives representing Florida’s 23rd congressional district.

Elected officials:

a. U.S. Senate: 53
b. U.S House of Representatives: 200
c. State Governors: 19
d. State Senate: 866
e. State House of Representatives: 2,589

Prominent figures:

Andrew Jackson (1829-1837), Martin Van Buren (1837-1841), James K. Polk (1845-1849), Franklin Pierce (1853-1857), James Buchanan (1857-1861), Andrew Johnson (1865-1869), Grover Cleveland (1885-1889/1893-1897), Woodrow Wilson (1913-1921), Franklin Delano Roosevelt (1933-1945), Harry Truman (1945-1953), John F. Kennedy (1961-1963), Lyndon B. Johnson (1963-1969), Jimmy Carter (1977-1981), Bill Clinton (1993-2001),Barack Obama (2009-present).