Political Party

The Republican Party

Official Name:

Republican Party


Alvan Earl Bovay and Thaddeus Stevens

Founding date:

July 6, 1854

Party Ideology:

The Republican Party is known as an advocate of American conservatism, espousing the role of religion, nationalism and economics at its core.

Party History:

The Grand Old Party (GOP), as the Republican Party is sometimes referred to, can trace its roots back to the United States Democratic-Republican Party, a breakaway faction of the ruling Federalist Party of the late eighteenth century. The Missouri Compromise of 1820 and subsequently, the Kansas-Nebraska Act of 1854, triggered an internal revolt within the Democratic-Republican Party. A splinter faction led by anti-slavery activist Alvan Earl Bovay and Thaddeus Stevens officially announced the formation of the Republican Party on July 6, 1854.

Its rise to power was swift, as typified by Abraham Lincoln’s victory in the 1860 presidential election, barely four years after the Party fielded its first ever candidate in a national election. Since then, the Party has had another 17 presidents, serving a total of 88 years.

Approximately 132 million Americans today identify themselves as Republicans or Republican-leaning independents.

Party address:

Republican National Committee
310 First Street, SE
Washington, DC 20003

Telephone: 202-863-8500

Party logo:

White-colored letters, GOP, fused with the iconic image of an elephant, on a deep red background.
Formerly the “Republican Elephant” (semi-official)

Party chairperson:

Reinhold Reince Priebus, former General Counsel for the Republican National Committee.

Elected officials:

a. U.S. Senate: 45
b. U.S House of Representatives: 233
c. State Governors: 30
d. State Senate: 1,022
e. State House of Representatives: 2,786

Prominent figures:

Abraham Lincoln (1861-1865), Ulysses S. Grant (1869-1877), Rutherford B. Hayes (1877-1881), James Garfield (1881), Chester Arthur (1881-1885), Benjamin Harrison (1889-1893), William McKinley (1897-1901), Teddy Roosevelt (1901-1909), William Howard Taft (1909-1913), Warren Harding (1921-1923), Calvin Coolidge (1923-1929), Herbert Hoover (1929-1933), Dwight D. Eisenhower (1953-1961), Richard Nixon (1969-1974), Gerald Ford (1974-1977), Ronald Reagan (1981-1989), George H. W. Bush (1989-1993), George W. Bush (2001-2009)